Nazareth Margoschis College at Pillaiyanmanai - Tamil

Our College

Nazareth Margoschis College at Pillaiyanmanai is a co-educational institution named after a renowned S.P.G. Missionary Rev.Canon Arthur Margoschis. The College is a Religious Minority Educational Institution under the governance of Thoothukudi-Nazareth Diocese of the Church of South India. The College completes 55 years of its educational service to serve the younger generation in the rural area.

The College was started in 1967 with three sections in the Pre-University Course affiliated to the Madurai Kamaraj University. Regular classes began from 05-07-1967. Prof.S.James Jegaraj was the pioneering Principal guided the college from 1967 to 1982. It was upgraded to first grade status with the introduction of degree courses in Economics and Mathematics in 1970. It became a co-educational institution in 1972 and in the same year History major was introduced at the degree level.

As Pre-University courses were taken away from the college as in 1979, more degree level courses were started. B.Sc.Zoology, B.A. English Literature & B.Sc. Chemistry were introduced in 1978, 1979 & 1981.

The Second Principal Prof. S. John Gabriel assumed charge as Principal from 1982 to 1995. B.Com. degree course was introduced in 1982. The college became a Post-Graduate Institution from 1987 with the introduction of M.Sc.Mathematics. The College chapel, P.G. Block and front side compound wall were built during his period. Since 1990, the college has been affiliated to the Manonmaniam Sundaranar University, Tirunelveli.

Dr. A.D.K. Jeyaseelan was the third Principal of our college from April 1995. A.D. Koilpillai Computer centre was built in 1996 and P.G.D.C.A.course was started in the same year. B.Sc. Computer Science (self financed) was introduced in 1997. V.V.Group Library building with air-conditioned staff reading hall was opened on 24.4.1999.

Dr. J. Joel assumed charge as Principal from 2000 to 2013. M.Sc. Chemistry course was started in 2001.B.Com. and M.Com. courses were also introduced during the academic year 2002- 2003. The construction of the compound wall enclosing the whole area of the college was built. The college has been first accredited by NAAC – I with B Grade in the year 2008.

The second floor of the Bishop Jeyapaul David Ladies’ Hostel was constructed in 2004. Mr. D.Duraisamy Nadar Block and Mrs.Rajammal Duraisamy Nadar (Oorvasi Soap, Chennai) M.C.A. Block, Bishop Dr.J.A.D.Jebachandran Auditorium with twelve class rooms in the ground floor were also built. Mrs. Visithiral Jebachandran Women’s Hostel with pedestal area of 17,000 sq. feet under the UGC XI plan - Special Development Scheme was also built.

B.A. Tamil Literature, B.A. English Literature and M.Phil. Commerce degree courses were introduced in the year 2014 - 2015. M.A. History and M.A. English Literature degree courses were introduced in the year 2016-2017. Dr. H.Ravindran, Head, Department of English assumed charge as Principal on 20 th April 2015. Dr. S. Arulraj Ponnudurai assumed as Principal from 2017-2022. The college has been re-accredited by NAAC- II cycle with B++ Grade with 2.93 CGPA out of 4. In 2021, college played an active role in the NIRF ranking process. The Department of Commerce, Mathematics and English have been upgraded as a Research Centre. A Golden Jubilee block was constructed in his period.

Dr. B.Jawahar Samuel assumed as Principal since 01.04.2023.